ATA Trapper Talk
December 09, 2019, 09:10:26 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: ATA TRAPPER TALK CODE OF ETHICS

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Public land trapping locations?  (Read 400 times)
JWD
Trapper

View Profile
« on: October 30, 2019, 11:18:33 PM »

Hello everybody,  I am new to the ATA. I am not new to trapping, but I am relatively new to the area I am now, we moved here 11/2017. I trapped on 340 a.c. of private land last year for a friend, did ok. Does anyone know of any public land trapping opportunities around the Yellville/Mountain Home area? Looking to find some new ground within a reasonable distance. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
JReagan
Trapper

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2019, 07:53:48 AM »

Have you looked into the WMA's listed by the AGFC? That's the best way to find public land local to you. If you look on their site they have interactive maps and stuff to help you locate areas near you.
https://www.agfc.com/en/hunting/where-hunt/wildlife-management-areas/
JWD
Trapper

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2019, 07:18:23 AM »

JReagan, yes sir I have, it all seems kind of risky as far as losing traps. Also, several are walk in only, I am not lazy by any means, but that is time consuming. I'm still looking into it. Thanks for the prompt reply.

JD
JReagan
Trapper

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 01, 2019, 08:25:19 AM »

The lose of traps is definitely a risk, and the walk in is definitely time consuming. I end up walking in way far away from any nearby roads to avoid traps being taken, but I can't just toss traps out on my way home in the evening like that for sure. Have to dedicate a weekend to the endeavor and camp out where I'm trapping.
Trav821
Administrator
Trapper

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: November 01, 2019, 02:32:28 PM »